# MEETING OF THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

## APPROVED MINUTES May 01, 2024

The meeting was called to order by Joaquin Rodriguez, Chair of the Transportation Project Advisory Committee, at 1:33 p.m., at City 3 Building, 811 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, Trost Conference Room (Basement) also conducted telephonically and by video conference. Members in attendance were:

TPAC Voting Members Present:			TPAC Voting Members Absent:	
1.	Harold Love	NMDOT	Anthony Turner	Town of Anthony, TX
2.	Joaquin Rodriguez	City of El Paso	Santos Lucero	Village of Vinton
3.	Marty Boyd	TXDOT	Ivy Avalos	City of Socorro
4.	Eddie Conde	City of San Elizario	Charlene Santisteban	Doña Ana County
5.	Robert Parker	UTEP	Evaristo Cruz	Ysleta del Sur Del Pueblo
6.	Gloria Ramirez	City of Anthony, NM		
7.	Claudia Garcia	Sun Metro		
8.	Michael McElroy	El Paso County	MPO STAFF	
9.	Mario Juarez Infante	City of Sunland Park	Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional
				Transportation Analyst
10.	Michelle Garcia	Horizon City	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
11.	Ramon Cano	Town of Clint	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
12.			Harrison Plourde	Assistant Executive Director
13.			Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
14.			Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst

(Meeting began with 9 members)

• Chair Joaquin Rodriguez, opened the public comment period. No Public Comment.

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the April 03, 2024, TPAC meeting.

**Presenter: TPAC Chair** 

Motion to approve the minutes of the April 03, 2024, TPAC meeting made by Marty Boyd and seconded by Claudia Garcia. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Consider amendments to the Transportation Policy Board Bylaws to add a member entity or entities to the Transportation Project Advisory Committee

**Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)** 

• Joaquin Rodriguez, Robert Parker, Eduardo Calvo, Marty Boyd, and Gloria Ramirez commented

Motion to amend the Transportation Policy Board Bylaws to add South Central Regional Transit District as a voting member to the TPAC, and to approach Fort Bliss and Camino Real Regional Mobility Authority to gauge their interest in joining the TPAC as voting members, made by Michelle Garcia and seconded by Robert Parker. Motion passed unanimously

- 3. Consider approval of amendments to the RMS 2050 MTP, and RMS 2023-2026 TIP to program transit projects from South Central Regional Transit District:
  - a. Program the Preventative Maintenance (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
  - b. Program the Pavement Resurfacing (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
  - c. Program the JARC (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
  - d. Program the Operating Assistance (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024

#### TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING

Minutes – April 03, 2024 Page 2 of 2

e. Program the Maintenance Facility Equipment (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024

f. Program the Security Fencing (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024

**Presenter: Gerardo Fierro (MPO)** 

Motion to approve the amendments to the RMS 2050 MTP, and RMS 2023-2026 TIP to program transit projects from South Central Regional Transit District:

- a. Program the Preventative Maintenance (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
- b. Program the Pavement Resurfacing (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
- c. Program the JARC (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
- d. Program the Operating Assistance (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
- e. Program the Maintenance Facility Equipment (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024
- f. Program the Security Fencing (FY24 5307) project using FTA 5307 funds in FY 2024

made by Harold Love and seconded by Claudia Eddie Conde. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Memorandum of Understanding between EPMPO, New Mexico Department of Transportation, and SCRTD to make provision for cooperative transportation and transit activities in the metropolitan planning area

**Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)** 

• Joaquin Rodriguez, Eduardo Calvo commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a Memorandum of Understanding between EPMPO, New Mexico Department of Transportation, and SCRTD to make provision for cooperative transportation and transit activities in the metropolitan planning area made by Harold Love and seconded by Claudia Garcia. Motion passed unanimously.

### **REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:**

5. Discussion of the triennial amendment to the EPMPO Public Participation Plan.

Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

- Joaquin Rodriguez, Harrison Plourde, Eduardo Calvo commented
- 6. Update on TXDOT Highway Emergency Response Operator (HERO) Program.

Presenter: Eduardo Perales & Rodolfo Pino (TxDOT)

Eduardo Calvo commented

Quorum of the TPAC was lost at 2:60 p.m.

7. Adjournment.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:60 p.m.

The <u>next regular meeting</u> of the TPAC is scheduled at <u>1:30 p.m.</u> on <u>June 5, 2024</u>, the due date for submittal of agenda items, names of speakers, attachments, items for presentations, and Project Request Forms (PRFs) is no later than **May 22, 2024**, by 3:00 p.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary for the Transportation Project Advisory Committee